Tennessee Teachers Earn Top National Distinction


This month, 14 Tennessee educators earned the distinction of becoming National Board Certified Teachers, one of the profession’s top honors. About 1,800 teachers nationwide were recognized in this year’s cohort.

“Teachers deserve our praise every day, but especially for moments in which they shine on a national level,” said Tennessee Commissioner of Education Candice McQueen. “That’s why today I am thrilled to recognize the Tennessee teachers who were just named as the newest National Board Certified Teachers. These educators have gone above and beyond to earn this recognition, and they are setting an example for all of us when it comes to high-quality teaching and learning.”

National Board certification is considered one of the gold standards for the teaching profession. Achieving certification by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards can be a multi-year process as teachers demonstrate to their peers that they meet the high standards for what they should know and be able to do. So far, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards has certified 672 teachers in Tennessee.

Below is the list of Tennessee teachers who the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards announced as the newest cohort of National Board Certified Teachers, along with their corresponding school districts. To learn more about National Board certification, click here, and to see Tennessee’s National Board state profile, click here.

2015 new National Board Certified Teachers:

Franklin Special School District

Rebecca Parks

Hamilton County School District

Tina Childers

Stephanie Heffington

Yang Im

Michele Pesce

Anna Rosser Howell

Jessica Smith

Metro Nashville Public Schools

Laura Eady

Selena Judkins

Kari Luecke

Marlene Miller

Michele Sheriff

Angela Spiller

Murfreesboro City School District

Sarah Chumney