More Governor’s Academy for School Leadership fellows promoted

We are proud to announce that the following Governor’s Academy for School Leadership fellows have been promoted to school and district leadership positions. Congratulations to these outstanding leaders!

  • LaToya Avery, Brighton Elementary School principal, Tipton County
  • David Ayers, Lara Kendall Elementary principal, Lake County
  • Melissa Brock, H.Y. Livesay Middle School principal, Claiborne County
  • Kevin Dawson, West Wilson Middle School principal, Wilson County
  • Patty Franks, Summertown High School, Lawrence County
  • Sarah Gray, Mosheim School principal, Greene County
  • Jordan Hughes, Boones Creek Middle School principal, Washington County
  • Holly Kidder, Supervisor of Instruction, Sweetwater City Schools
  • Bubba Winningham, Algood Middle School principal, Putnam County

The Governor’s Academy for School Leadership (GASL) is a unique partnership between the Tennessee Governor’s Office, Department of Education, Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College, and local school districts. It consists of a cohort of 20-25 assistant principals from across Tennessee who participate in a one-year leadership development experience aimed at increasing school leadership capacity and supporting individual growth toward becoming a highly effective building principal. The program is anchored in practice-based mentorship, in-depth feedback cycles, and tailored training sessions. The mission of the program is to prepare a cohort of transformational school leaders who will improve school effectiveness/performance and unlock educational opportunities for all students.

You can learn more about GASL here. If you have questions about GASL, please reach out to